COVID-19 Update

Ottawa Tourism’s top priority is the health and safety of our community and our visitors. As we welcome travellers back to our region, please consult our Visiting Ottawa safely page for the latest COVID-19 information. When making plans, please confirm details with businesses and entities directly as parts of our website may not reflect current offerings.

Ottawa Visitor Incentive Program

Frequently asked questions for the Ottawa Visitor Incentive Program

Why launch this incentive program?

Ottawa VIP’s objectives are to support our clients and partners such as hotels and attractions, in the recovery phase and to attract visitors to Canada’s capital in 2021. This incentive program intends to assist travel operators to sell packaged travels to Ottawa in 2021, for either group or FIT clients, by providing additional value to the visitors.

How does it work?

Ottawa VIP will provide funding to the amount of $50.00 per room night, when each room night is accompanied with a paid admission(s) to a participating attraction (for a minimum of one admission per room). Hotels and attractions must be paid by the tour operator. Proof of payment will be required to receive the Ottawa VIP funding. There are no minimum rooms nights requirement per booking and travel must be completed by December 31, 2021.

To be eligible to this incentive program, each hotel night must have a paid admission. Ottawa Tourism will provide funding to tour operators that have followed the 3-step application process.

What is the 3-step application process?

Step 1: Eligible operators must sign up to the Ottawa Visitor Incentive Program. Operators are required to fill-out the online operator application and obtain a signed agreement from Ottawa Tourism prior to their first booking. This first step only needs to be completed once by the operator and receptive. Approval time can take up to 5 business days. Ottawa Tourism will also send a copy of the agreement which will only come into effect once both parties have signed it.

Step 2: Eligible operators are required to register each qualifying group or FIT booking. They will need to fill-out the booking entry at least 5 business days prior to the start date of travel. An email will be sent by Ottawa Tourism to acknowledge receipt of the booking registration. The booking entry form will be provided to the eligible operators once they have been approved in Step 1.

Step 3: Eligible operators need to submit a detailed billing summary once visitors have completed their trip to Ottawa and all suppliers have been paid. Operators will fill-out the billing summary form and provide a scanned or digital proof of payment for the accommodation(s) and paid admission(s) to attraction(s). Eligible funds will be transferred up to 30 days after submission and reconciliation of the billing summary form. The billing summary form will be provided to the eligible operators once they have been approved in Step 1.

Who qualifies as an eligible operator for the Ottawa VIP?

“Eligible operators” are certified Tour Operators and Receptive Operators who develop and sell Groups and/or Fully Independent Travelers (FIT) Tour Packages to and within Canada. Clients based in Ontario, Quebec and British Columbia must be licensed to sell travel packages by their provincial body of regulation (i.e.: TICO, OPC, CPBC). For clients based outside of these provinces, they will need to be registered by their provincial, national, or state body or regulation, when applicable.

Is this program open for tour operators selling trips to travellers from outside of Canada?

Currently this program is for Tour Operators/Receptive Operators selling Packaged Travel to Canadians travelling within Canada. Tour Operator/Receptive Operator eligibility will be adjusted based on international borders status.

What are the participating accommodations?

Download the eligible hotels list (pdf)

What are the participating attractions?

Download the eligible attractions list (pdf)

How will the funding be calculated?

The program will provide funding to the amount of $50.00 for each eligible night per room. An eligible night is accompanied with a paid admission(s) to an eligible attraction (for a minimum of one admission per room). The total amount of funding will be based on the following formula:

(Number of rooms) x (Eligible nights) x $50

Here below are a few examples based on different possible scenarios.

  1.  A Tour Operator has booked 5 rooms for a group of 10 visitors for 2 nights, and has booked the group into 1 attraction* on the first day of their visit.

    Eligible Funding
    1 attraction gives 1 eligible night
    Funding: 5 x 1 x $50.00 = $250.00

  2.  However, that same Tour Operator has booked 5 rooms for a different group of 10 visitors, also for a 2-night stay, and has booked the group into 2 attractions* during their visit.

    Eligible Funding
    2 attractions give 2 eligible nights
    Funding: 5 x 2 x $50.00 = $500.00

  3. A Tour Operator has booked 1 room for a family of 4 visitors for 1 night, and has booked the family into 1 attraction* during their visit.

    Eligible Funding
    1 attraction gives 1 eligible night
    Funding: 1 x 1 x $50.00 = $50.00

  4. A Tour Operator has booked 2 rooms for two couples, for a 3-night stay, and has booked the group into 2 attractions* during their visit

    Eligible Funding
    2 attractions give 2 eligible nights
    Funding: 2 x 2 x $50.00 = $200.00

*At least one person per room must be booked into the attraction.

 

Stay up to date

Stay up to date on upcoming events and ideas to plan your next trip to Ottawa with friends, family or on your own by signing up for the Ottawa Tourism Newsletter.

Le point sur la COVID-19

À Tourisme Ottawa, la santé et la sécurité de notre communauté et de nos visiteurs est notre priorité absolue. Alors que nous accueillons de nouveau les voyageurs dans notre région, veuillez consulter notre page Visiter Ottawa en toute sécurité pour obtenir les derniers renseigements sur la COVID-19. Lorsque vous planifiez vos activités, veuillez confirmer les détails directement auprès des entreprises et des entités, puisque certaines sections de notre site Web pourraient ne pas refléter les offres actuelles.

Ottawa Visitor Incentive Program

Foire aux questions du Programme incitatif aux visiteurs d’Ottawa

Pourquoi avez-vous lancé ce programme incitatif?

Nous avons lancé le Programme incitatif aux visiteurs (Ottawa VIP) pour aider nos clients et nos partenaires (p. ex. attractions, hébergements) pendant la reprise et attirer des visiteurs à Ottawa en 2021. Nous avons conçu ce programme incitatif pour aider les voyagistes à vendre des voyages organisés à Ottawa, en 2021, à des voyageurs en groupe ou FIT, en offrant une valeur ajoutée aux visiteurs.

Comment fonctionne le programme?

Le programme Ottawa VIP offre un montant de 50 $ par nuitée lorsque celle-ci est accompagnée d’une entrée payante pour une attraction participante (l’équivalent d’une nuitée par chambre). Les voyagistes et les agences réceptives doivent payer les attractions et les établissements d'hébergement. Une preuve de paiement sera exigée pour obtenir les montants du programme Ottawa VIP. Il n'y a pas de nombre minimal de chambres et de nuitées requises par réservation. Les voyages doivent se terminer avant le 31 décembre 2021.

Aux fins d'admissibilité à ce programme incitatif, toutes les nuitées à l'hôtel doivent être payantes. Tourisme Ottawa accorde un montant par nuitée aux voyagistes qui suivent les trois étapes du processus de demande.

En quoi consistent les trois étapes du processus de demande ?

Étape 1 : Les voyagistes admissibles doivent s'inscrire au Programme incitatif aux visiteurs d'Ottawa. Ils doivent remplir le formulaire de demande en ligne et obtenir un accord signé de Tourisme Ottawa avant d'effectuer leur première réservation. Les voyagistes et les agences réceptives doivent effectuer cette première étape une seule fois. Il faut prévoir jusqu'à cinq jours ouvrables avant d'obtenir une approbation. Tourisme Ottawa envoie également une copie de l'accord qui entre seulement en vigueur lorsque les deux parties l'ont signé. 

Étape 2 : Les voyagistes doivent enregistrer toutes les réservations des groupes ou FIT. Ils doivent remplir le formulaire des réservations au moins cinq jours ouvrables avant la date de début du voyage. Tourisme Ottawa envoie un accusé de réception par courriel pour confirmer l'enregistrement des réservations. Le formulaire des réservations sera envoyé aux voyagistes une fois qu’ils ont été admis à l’étape 1.

Étape 3 : Les voyagistes doivent présenter une facture détaillée une fois que les visiteurs ont terminé leur voyage à Ottawa et que tous les fournisseurs ont été payés. Ils doivent remplir le formulaire de facturation et fournir une copie ou une version numérisée des paiements aux hébergements et aux attractions. Les montants admissibles seront transférés jusqu'à 30 jours après la présentation d'un formulaire de facturation. Le formulaire de facturation sera envoyé aux voyagistes une fois qu’ils ont été admis à l’étape 1.

Quels sont les critères d'admissibilité au programme Ottawa VIP pour les voyagistes?

Les voyagistes admissibles sont des agences réceptives et des voyagistes certifiés qui offrent des voyages organisés en groupe ou FIT au Canada et/ou à destination du Canada. Les clients de l'Ontario, du Québec et de la Colombie-Britannique doivent être autorisés à vendre des voyages organisés par l'organisme de réglementation de leur province (c.-à-d. le Travel Industry Council of Ontario [TICO], l'Office de la protection du consommateur [OPC] ou le Consumer Protection British Columbia [CPBC]). Les clients qui ne résident pas dans ces provinces doivent être enregistrés par l'organisme de réglementation de leur province, de leur pays ou de leur État, s'il y a lieu.

Est-ce que ce programme est ouvert aux voyagistes qui vendent à des clients situés à l’extérieur du Canada?

En ce moment, ce programme s’adresse aux voyagistes qui vendent à des clients situés au Canada voyageant au Canada. L’admissibilité des voyagistes sera ajustée au besoin selon le statut des frontières internationales.

Quels sont les hébergements participants?

Téléchargez la liste des hôtels admissibles (pdf) au programme Ottawa VIP

Quelles sont les attractions participantes?

Téléchargez la liste des attractions admissibles (pdf) au programme Ottawa VIP

Comment calculez-vous le financement?

Le programme offre un montant de 50 $ par nuitée admissible. Chaque nuitée admissible doit être accompagnée par une ou des entrée(s) payante(s) pour une attraction participante (l’équivalent d’une entrée par chambre). La formule suivante est utilisée pour calculer le montant total:

(Nombre de chambres) x (Nombre de nuitées admissibles) × 50 $

Voici quelques exemples de scénarios possibles :

  1. Un Tour Opérateur a réservé 5 chambres pour 2 nuits à un groupe de 10 visiteurs, et leur a réservé l’entrée à 1 attraction* le premier jour de leur séjour.

    Financement admissible
    1 attraction donne droit à 1 nuit éligible
    Financement : 5 x 1 x 50,00 $ = 250,00 $
     
  2. Ce même Tour Opérateur a réservé 5 chambres pour 2 nuits à un autre groupe de 10 visiteurs, et leur a réservé l’entrée à 2 attractions* lors de leur séjour.

    Financement admissible
    2 attractions donnent droit à 2 nuits éligibles
    Financement : 5 x 2 x 50,00 $ = 500,00 $
     
  3. Un Tour Opérateur a réservé 1 chambre pour 1 nuit à une famille de 4 visiteurs, et leur a réservé l’entrée à 1 attraction* durant leur séjour.

    Financement admissible
    1 attraction donne droit à 1 nuit éligible
    Financement : 1 x 1 x 50,00 $ = 50,00 $
     
  4. Un Tour Opérateur a réservé 2 chambres pour 3 nuits à deux couples, et leur a réservé l’entrée à 2 attractions* lors de leur séjour.

    Financement admissible
    2 attractions donnent droit à 2 nuits éligibles
    Financement : 2 x 2 x 50,00 $ = 200,00 $

*Au moins une entrée par attraction, par chambre.


Renseignements généraux : 1-833-864-7839
info@tourismeottawa.ca


Demandes de renseignements sur le Passeport expériences Ottawa : 1-833-817-6452
ottawaexperiencepass@ottawatourism.ca



Restez à jour

Soyez informé des événements à venir et trouvez des idées pour planifier votre prochain voyage à Ottawa avec des amis, en famille ou en solo en vous inscrivant au bulletin de Tourisme Ottawa.