COVID-19 Update

What's the current situation in Ottawa?

Read more

Cycling in the Capital - Parliament

Destination Development Initiatives

Ottawa Tourism’s Destination Development team is currently providing leadership on the following regional destination development initiatives. Ottawa Tourism also collaborates with partners on a number of other destination and product development initiatives which are not included in the list below.

Wayfinding

Ottawa Tourism is collaborating with a team of representatives from the City of Ottawa, the National Capital Commission, and Tourisme Outaouais to develop a unique pedestrian wayfinding and signage system for Ottawa. We are currently in the detailed design phase of this project and are working with leading global experts Steer and Jedco–the award-winning team behind some of the best-practice examples of city wayfinding signage worldwide. This detailed design phase has been supported by a foundation of research and consultation which was conducted as part of earlier phases of this project.

Indigenous Tourism

Ottawa is situated on the ancestral territory of the Algonquin Anishinaabe Nation, and has been a gathering place for Indigenous Peoples for millennia. Today, Ottawa is the place where Canadians from coast to coast to coast gather to celebrate their shared heritage.

Ottawa Tourism continues to work with our regional Indigenous communities and tourism businesses to help grow authentic Indigenous tourism experiences in our region.

Rural Tourism

The Ottawa region is blessed with an abundance of natural and agricultural landscapes – many of which can be found within a short drive from the downtown core.

Comprising 80% of the city’s total area (the largest of any major urban city in Canada), Ottawa’s countryside contributes to the unique fabric of our destination. Given the right development opportunities, these rural experiences have the potential to act as significant tourism drivers for Ottawa. 

Ottawa Tourism recognizes the importance of leveraging our unique rural assets to create compelling, memorable visitor experiences. We are involved in a variety of rural activities and initiatives to lift the profile and appeal of Ottawa’s countryside.

For more information on any of Ottawa Tourism’s current destination development initiatives, please contact Ottawa Tourism’s Destination Development team.

Stay up to date

Sign-up for the Ottawa Tourism Newsletter and we'll keep you updated on events and ideas for planning your next trip to Ottawa.

Le point sur la COVID-19

À Tourisme Ottawa, la santé et la sécurité de notre communauté et de nos visiteurs est notre priorité absolue. Consultez notre page Visiter Ottawa en toute sécurité pour les renseignements actuels.

Major's Hill Park, view of Parliament, Cycling

Initiatives de développement de la destination

L’équipe de développement de la destination de Tourisme Ottawa assure actuellement la direction des initiatives régionales de développement de la destination suivantes. Tourisme Ottawa collabore également avec des partenaires sur un certain nombre d’autres initiatives de développement de la destination et de produits qui ne figurent pas dans la liste ci-dessous.

Orientation

Tourisme Ottawa travaille avec une équipe de représentants de la Ville d’Ottawa, de la Commission de la capitale nationale et de Tourisme Outaouais sur la création d’un système unique de signalisation et d’orientation des piétons à Ottawa. Nous en sommes à la phase de conception détaillée de ce projet, et nous travaillons avec des acteurs mondiaux de premier plan, Steer et Jedco, une équipe primée à l’origine de certains des meilleurs systèmes de signalisation urbaine du monde. Cette phase de conception détaillée s’appuie sur les recherches et les consultations menées lors des phases précédentes du projet.

Tourisme autochtone

Ottawa est située sur le territoire ancestral de la nation algonquine des Anishinaabes et est un lieu de rassemblement pour les Premières Nations depuis des millénaires. Aujourd’hui, Ottawa est l’endroit où des Canadiens des quatre coins du pays se réunissent pour célébrer leur patrimoine commun.

Tourisme Ottawa continue de travailler avec les communautés autochtones et les entreprises touristiques de la région pour les aider à créer des expériences touristiques autochtones authentiques au sein de la région de la capitale du Canada.

Tourisme rural

La région d’Ottawa a la chance de compter une abondance de paysages naturels et agricoles, dont plusieurs se trouvent à une courte distance en voiture du centre-ville.

La campagne d’Ottawa, qui représente 80 % de la superficie totale de la ville (la plus grande parmi les grandes agglomérations urbaines du Canada), joue un rôle dans le caractère unique de notre destination. Si elles sont assorties de bonnes possibilités de développement, ces expériences rurales pourraient constituer un moteur touristique important pour Ottawa.

Tourisme Ottawa reconnaît l’importance de tirer parti des atouts ruraux uniques de la région pour offrir des expériences captivantes et mémorables aux visiteurs. Nous participons à diverses activités et initiatives rurales en vue de rehausser le profil et l’attrait de la campagne d’Ottawa.

Pour en savoir plus sur les initiatives actuelles de développement de la destination de Tourisme Ottawa, veuillez communiquer avec l’équipe de développement de la destination de Tourisme Ottawa.

Restez à jour

Soyez informé des événements à venir et trouvez des idées pour planifier votre prochain voyage à Ottawa avec des amis, en famille ou en solo en vous inscrivant au bulletin de Tourisme Ottawa.